Bible Study

Bible study

If Enoch is tossed out then…

If we toss out the Book of Enoch then the whole pardigim shifts.

First, look at this:

Then take a look at these:

So, what about these fallen angels?

So, what about these giants?

Moses’ Ten trips up the mountan

So what about Moses’ trips up the mountain? There were ten of them.

  1. Ex 3 – Moses is called
  2. Ex 19:3 – Moses is to address the Israelites
  3. Ex 19:8 – Moses brings back the words of the people. The Israelites said that they hear and will do what YHVH says. The people have accepted the covenant.
  4. Ex 19:20 – go warn the people of the covenant boundaries
  5. Ex 20:21-23:33 – includes the blood ratification of the Book of the Covenant. Nothing can be added e.g. trips 6 to 10! Don’t lump these trips together in a Greek chronology.
  6. Ex 24:9 – This is the ‘Book of the Covenant’ confirming meal. The Book of the Covenant is written.
  7. Ex 24:12 – the first set of tablets of law with tabernacle instructions.
  8. Ex 32:1 – after the sin of the Golden Calf
  9. Ex 32:31 – Moses intercedes for Israel
  10. Ex 34 second set of tablets is placed inside the ark of the covenant and the Book of the law is placed outside the ark in a pocket as a a witness against Israel for breaking the Book of the Covenant housed inside the ark of the covenant,

While this is a linear chronology, the trips up the mountain cannot be run together.

Please note that while there were plans for a tabernacle and a priesthood with Aaron being the high priest (trip 7) prior to the sin of the golden calf, all were to be a kingdom of priests.

[Exodus 19:6 KJV] 6 And ye shall be unto me a kingdom of priests, and an holy nation. These [are] the words which thou shalt speak unto the children of Israel.

After the sin of the golden calf they became a kingdom under an Aaronic, commonly referred to as Levitical, priest.

Also, before the sin of the golden calf we have:

[Exodus 24:7 KJV] 7 And he took the book of the covenant, and read in the audience of the people: and they said, All that the LORD hath said will we do, and be obedient.

So, what is this book of the covenant?

[Exodus 24:4 KJV] 4 And Moses wrote all the words of the LORD, and rose up early in the morning, and builded an altar under the hill, and twelve pillars, according to the twelve tribes of Israel.


After the sin of the golden calf we have the book of the law.

[Deuteronomy 29:21 KJV] 21 And the LORD shall separate him unto evil out of all the tribes of Israel, according to all the curses of the covenant that are written in this book of the law:

[Deuteronomy 30:9-10 KJV] 9 And the LORD thy God will make thee plenteous in every work of thine hand, in the fruit of thy body, and in the fruit of thy cattle, and in the fruit of thy land, for good: for the LORD will again rejoice over thee for good, as he rejoiced over thy fathers: 10 If thou shalt hearken unto the voice of the LORD thy God, to keep his commandments and his statutes which are written in this book of the law, [and] if thou turn unto the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul.

[Deuteronomy 31:25-26 KJV] 25 That Moses commanded the Levites, which bare the ark of the covenant of the LORD, saying, 26 Take this book of the law, and put it in the side of the ark of the covenant of the LORD your God, that it may be there for a witness against thee.

So, the book of the law is outside the ark of the covenant. What is inside? The book of the covenant, which we commonly refer to as the ten commandments.

What is the difference between the book of the covenant and the book of the law? That is for another day.

Torah is not chronological

Our Greek philosophy western mindsets assumes that the Bible is a chronological telling of the plan of redemption from the beginning to end; however, the chronological part can be further from the truth.

From Matthew Nolan:

To me, it’s logical to assume that the ongoing narrative of Torah follows chronological order, (e.g. the story of Issac will obviously follow the story of his father Avraham). But, we may find instances when a certain narrative concludes with details that took place many years later.

For example, the story of the manna in Parsha B’shalach concludes with YHWH’s commandment to Moshe to place a sample of the manna next to the Aaron in the Ark of the Testimony (Exodus 16:33) . This commandment could only have been given after the Ark of the Testimony was completed, an event that doesn’t occur until many months and chapters later (Ch 25). But, because that narrative deals with the manna (which first fell before the giving of Torah), a related event, even though it takes place at a later date, it can be included in the same Parsha.

The story of Judah and Tamar in Genesis is another classic example of achronology, since Tamar waited for Shelah to grow up, the second part of that story must have taken place at least thirteen years later, and hence after Yosef becomes viceroy in Egypt! Recall that he was sold at age 17 and solved Pharaoh’s dream at age 30.

Today’s random Bible verse: Psalms 9:18

Today’s random Bible verse from BibleDice:

[Psalm 9:18 KJV] 18 For the needy shall not alway be forgotten: the expectation of the poor shall [not] perish for ever.

Jesus told us that the poor will always be with us and this is very true.

God promises that their needs will be met but we are the instruments in that promise. In the society He designed that was still true because the needy were taken in as servants and when their time was over, unless they wanted to stay with their master, they were sent away in abundance. Additionally, those that could not take care of themselves due to physical deformities were to be taken care of by the community as a whole.

When human greed did not get in the way and this model was allowed to function, it did and that community received blessings which included more to go around for the community.

Soon this community will be allowed to function again in the Millennial Kingdom. Thy Kingdom come quickly.